ColdPlay Album Review (11/2008)


Aware that I have nothing short of neglected my readers, I have not abandoned you completely, I have decided to document some of my earlier writing here as well, so that things don’t just go dry. As some of this information is indeed dated, I know that some of you will enjoy it as I still do when I read it. So without further ado, I present to you Keisha…the golden years.

1st Blast from the Past: Cold Play Album Review (Viva La Vida or Death and All his Friends

I still listen to this album, I love it, and its a classic, a review definitely worth my Hall of Fame.

 

Coldplay: Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends

This London-based band is talented, their past albums have been compared to the likes of U2, and other great bands, and with their fourth CD going strong, there is no doubt in my mind that they will continue providing us with music we can actually feel.

The album has ten tracks all filled to the rim with emotion. Viva La Vida is not just composed of random music and random lyrics, it actually speaks to you, that may sound weird, but let me clarify. Band leader Chris Martin, has a voice that not only sounds good, but you can sense the feeling he puts behind every lyric in every one of the tracks. Even though this album has much less of Chris’ falsetto, his point still comes across strong. I was able to relate strongly to the track entitled “Lost” the lyrics alone touched me, but to hear Chris Martin lowly singing the lyrics in a bluesy tone, along with the wonderful music his band provides, really put me over the top.

I’ve always been impressed with Coldplay as a whole, but this album was able to make me appreciate every band member separately, lead guitarist Jonny Buckland, drummer Will Champion, and bassist Guy Berryman, all pulled through strongly and were far more than just “the background”.

With this fourth album Coldplay provides their listeners with what can only be described as good music, and using the word good seems like robbery, but its  the truth. Coldplay is a good band, they offer good music, and they make you think without crowding a million words into a four-minute and thirty-two second song…also GOOD. And isn’t that all we as music lovers want? To be made to feel good, in spite of everything. Just to be able to leave work, get into our cars, shut out the world and vibe out on the highway of life.

With Viva La Vida (or Death and all His Friends) satisfaction guaranteed.

Leave a Reply

