Young Money Review (Concert & Album Double Whammy!)


In a world where the validity of Hip Hop is constantly threatened by the Auto-Tune or songs that were strictly made to make people dance, its hard to put together an eclectic list of artists that can satisfy the masses, but this and more was accomplished with this years Summer Jam. Featuring Jerimih, Souljah Boy, Young Jeezy, and Lil Wayne, there was a little something in there for every hip hop fan.

The weather was perfect, over 5,000 people were in attendance…

and all the performances were spectacular. Upon entering the venue, the energy was all over the place, due to the traffic, I was unable to see Jerimih’s set but from what I’ve been hearing he was the perfect opening act, able to set the mood and get people ready for a pretty exciting night.

Soulja Boy was the second to go on and though this is my third time actually seeing him in concert, he never ceases to amaze me, his adrenaline is always pumping, and he seems to enjoy being in the spotlight and entertaining, he has never given a bad, low energy performance before and this time was no different.

Young Jeezy is cut from a different cloth altogether, with a huge backdrop that read: TM103, it was obvious that he was not there to dance, but more to connect on a different level with the crowd. The bass was heavy, and as I walked between, and around the many fans I noticed that they never missed a beat, spewing every word from their lips like venom, Jeezy connected with the audience on the lyrical level. Making us all proud of where we came from and even more proud of where we were.

For most of the performances I was walking, chatting or just standing in one place enjoying the music and taking it all in, so by the time Jeezy left the stage I was exhausted, a friend and I decided to finally take our seats while the crew was getting the stage ready for the headliner, Lil Wayne. This was my first time seeing the “Greatest Rapper Alive” in concert, though I am a big fan, I have never made it to any of his shows, so I had no idea what I was in store for. A video begins to play onstage of Lil Wayne as if he is walking from his tour bus on to the stage, this alone caused a large collection of people to scream and rush to the stage (or as close as they could get). Reluctant to do so, I stood up and decided I would like a closer look as well. At this point I’m near the front, Lil Wayne is onstage demanding the crowd’s attention as well as their participation and to be so small in stature, he has a strong presence, making it easy to believe every word that comes from his mouth. I am a mellow and laid back person, but even I found myself yelling the lyrics to some of the songs from The Carter III as well as a few of his mix tape hits. Close ups of the young rapper on the huge screen above the stage showed the passion that he holds in his heart for his career and this industry. There is no doubt in my mind that he will be around for quite sometime.

Near the end of his performance Lil Wayne introduced us to the New “Young Money” crew. Lil Twist, Lil Chucky, T Streets, Jae Millz, Gudda, Tyga, and Nikki Minaj. Each member did a verse as introduction and it seems that Cash Money a.k.a.Young Money has a bright future ahead. Closing with a Michael Jackson Tribute, Lil Wayne came, saw, and conquered, but who would expect anything less from the best?

****

Okay so Young Money dropped their album 12/21/2009, and in my opinion it was done in a very quiet way, as I JUST purchased the CD yesterday.

In its first week according to BillBoard the crew sold 142,000 not that good if you calculate ALL the hype thats been around the crew for the past few months (mainly Nikki Minaj, and Drake). After listening to the cd 1.5 times, I’m going to say its fairly entertaining, yet juvenile. The beats hit hard, Mac Mane comes through on a lot of the records. Overall its a good listen on a Friday night, as long as the crew stays in tact and consistent they can only get better.

4 thoughts on “Young Money Review (Concert & Album Double Whammy!)

  1. This is very well written. I enjoy all of the artist above but can’t say that I’m a fan because I’ve never purchased any of their music with the exception of The Carter III.

    I expect BIG things from Jeezy and even BIGGER things from Drake. I hope his album doesn’t disappoint after all of these mix-tapes and guest spots.

    • Thanks! I originally went to the concert on an assignment, I wasn’t too amped about going at all. Some of the artists I can tolerate, I honestly like Lil Wayne, aside from all the silliness (babymamas, drugs, jail) hes actually a pretty good artist. I think that with a little more structure, Young Money may be a force to be reckoned with.

      Thanks for reading.

  2. Thanks, that is a very good article. I found it via MSN and immediately incorporated it into my feedreader. I am pleased to soon be back here to read again! Best greets

Leave a Reply

