Lauryn Hill


You might win some, but you really lost one

It’s almost as if Lauryn was taunting my dreams with this line alone, its like she walked away into the sunset singing this song, never to be seen again, at least that’s how I pictured it. Sure she’s made an album since that single, but it wasnt the same, and in my opinion wasnt HER best work.

It’s funny how money change a situation
Miscommunication leads to complication
My emancipation don’t fit your equation
I was on the humble, you – on every station

And though most of us have an inkling of who this song was actually dedicated to, it still cut pretty deep. Wasnt just a song to bob your head to, in fact I wouldn’t even call it a song, Lauryn was flowing on this one. She meant every word that came from her mouth. Sometimes an artist scratch that an individual, gets tired of trying to fit in with what society deems appropriate. Sometimes, you just want to walk away.

But if a thing test me, run for mi gun
Can’t take a threat to mi newborn son
L’s been this way since creation
A groupie call, you fall from temptation
Now you wanna ball over separation
Tarnish my image in your conversation

Though I havent exactly cried over Lauryn since she has left the scene, I have wondered where she is when hearing her vocals blasted during late nights on the radio, or in cool, dark, coffee shops. Through my smile my mind is wondering…where did she go. So yea, you could say I…no WE are balling over the separation.

Now some might mistake this for just a simple song
And some don’t know what they have ’til it’s gone
Now even when you’re gone you can still be reborn
And, from the night can arrive the sweet dawn

Pay close attention to the last line, and though this may have been taken out of context on my behalf, it works for me, because baby OMG I just had a MoNique moment, she’s back! And I don’t mean back as in crazy hair, dark blush, man pants back.

Dont you DARE laugh!

But she’s back, like for real….this pic taken at the Tanzania Trust Gala held in NYC on April 18th of THIS YEAR!!!!

No, this isn’t an album, or anything close to it, but I’m genuinely happy, that my Lauryn is alright. She doesn’t have to ever make music again, as long as she’s smiling, she’s made enough music, to last me a lifetime. Though, she is still missed in this industry sometimes ones sanity is more important than any album you can drop. Welcome (not so) back Ms. Hill!

Follow me @iKeish

Also 10 Reasons We Cannot Forget L.Boogie can be found on 4everyoneelse.com

Peace!

9 thoughts on “Lauryn Hill

  1. Kudos! Brilliance as always. The MTV unplugged joint she did is still in heavy rotation! “I gotta Find Piece of Mind” … Drops Mic. Walks off Stage to go listen. Word.

    • I purchased that CD, and though her voice was hoarse admittedly she still did better than a lot of the “mixtapes” that are currently in rotation with todays music scene. Lauryn…is…just…eargasmic…like seriously. Glad you enjoyed!

      • Here presence will forever be missed in all genres of music.. The music industry is hurtful to any mind and soul, (Disclamer not in anyway I’m calling her weak) i’m not saying that it was fair for Ms. Hill to give up on what “she was born to do”.. howerver, for her sanity as we can all see in the image above it was best that she find a peice of mind in her own right!

Leave a Reply

