Who Dat?!?!?!


My infatuation along with prayers to the music Gods, has paid off, as if you didn’t already know J. Cole is getting airplay, now, this could be both good and bad, but I’m leaning towards good based off of his first single (on mainstream radio, lets not forget the complete “Black Simba” album) “Who Dat?!?!”  laced with lines like

A couple y’all ain’t took a field trip to the hood
Hey me? I’m “Fresh Prince”, I’m Will Smith to the hood
Baby, ain’t sayin names but we not the same
All that money and the fame don’t change the fact that you lame
Might wanna grab you a chain, wanna tip up your hat
Might wanna purchase some game homie, your shit is so whack

Who is he referring to you ask?

You know we at iKeish dont speculate, but…I’d be lying if I said I wasnt speculating, I wont say what you’re thinking, we’ll just agree that we’re ALL thinking it…

Now, it could be a bad thing because people tend to water or dumb down their lyrics in exchange for the ultimate fame, Jay Z admittedly did it, and it seemed to work out fine BUT I don’t think this is the blueprint to how all rap careers should start, I need to feel the real-ness in your lyrics, I know that once life changes your thoughts do too, so you may not be able to rap about the same things you experienced before you got “BIG” hopefully J. Cole is able to hold tight to what makes me love him…raw and uncut, yet neat at the same time, if you can imagine that.

I’m excited, and you should be too…good pick Jay Z…good pick

Presenting…Hip Hop

5 thoughts on “Who Dat?!?!?!

  1. LOl…i don’t think he was referring to Drake…but it would be fitting. I like them both, but unlike Drake i could see myself hanging with a J. Cole type. Drake reminds me of one of those weird, antisocial musical genius types that seems out of place around people *a la MJ, Prince, etc…*

    As i said before when i first heard the likes of him, Drake, Jay Electronica…i think there is still a lot of good music to be made…so i’m feeling alright with the state of hip hop and music as a whole. Like everyone else J. will just have to wait his turn, but i think when his time comes he will be that shit…hopefully Jov will promote him properly, Jay is my manz, but he’s horrible at promoting his artist…LOL!

  2. As i said before when i first heard the likes of him, Drake, Jay Electronica…i think there is still a lot of good music to be made…so i’m feeling alright with the state of hip hop and music as a whole. Like everyone else J. will just have to wait his turn, but i think when his time comes he will be that shit…hopefully Jov will promote him properly, Jay is my manz, but he’s horrible at promoting his artist…LOL!
    +1

Leave a Reply

