Aint Nothin’ but a gangsta party!! (Remembering Tupac Shakur)


I set goals, take control, drink out my own bottle
I make mistakes but learn from every one
And when it’s said and done
I bet this brother be a better one
If I upset you dont stress
Never forget, that God isn’t finished with me yet

September 13, 1996. The airwaves were flooded with the death of Tupac Shakur. People didn’t want to believe it, and some to this day still don’t. Tupac survived so much it was a hard and bitter pill to swallow. A death that would forever divide the east and the west coast, although as days became nights and nights turned to days, people began to put aside the beef, and move on.

I was merely 12 and in middle school, I didn’t cry however I was a fan. I just remember thinking “man, that’s fucked up” (I had a potty mouth at an early age, vowing to stop cursing as soon as I hit thirty). I was first introduced to 2pac as an actor. I remember seeing him in a movie with Dan Akroyd and Chevy Chase. I forget what it was called, but I know he was dancing with Digital Underground, it was pretty cool. He stood out for me in my favorite movie of all time “Juice” as “Bishop”. This guy was mind-blowing. I never rooted for “Q” I was always on Tupacs side. Weird. I know.

A member of Death Row Records, alongside Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, and Suge Knight, the crew was menacing to say the least. Tupac and his wads of cash, ignorant herringbone chains, sagging jeans and his signature middle finger, he was Hip Hops TRUE bad boy, we loved him for it. Before there was Kanye West, Cam’Ron, Jim Jones, 50 Cent, Ya-Yo, and others claiming this “gangsta shit” there was Tupac (and of course NWA).

Slain at 25 it seemed too soon, but find comfort in knowing that everything happens for a reason. RIP Tupac Shakur, you’re missed. 🙂

A Tupac Shakur Celebration (listen live)

Americas Favorite Rapper 2 (listen live)

Leave a Reply

