Everything Irie (now) RIP Gregory Isaacs


Too many people have asked me “Keisha, who’s Gregory Isaacs?” This is an understandable question I wouldn’t have known who he was either if I hadn’t gone through a Reggae phase (thank God for that) which I am still not completely out of. So as I sit here with my laptop, with the wind blowing through my patio doors downstairs, playing Gregory Isaacs “Storm”, burning incense, and all but smoking a spliff, I can say that he left a mark with his music and that’s enough for me.

Gregory Isaacs a noted reggae singer died today 10/25/2010 at the age of 59. Born in Kingston July 15, 1951, his musical career blossomed in the seventies, but Isaacs made music all the way up until 2008.

Gregory Isaacs was quoted saying:

Drugs are a debasing weapon. It was the greatest college ever, but the most expensive school fee ever paid – the Cocaine High School. I learnt everything, and now I’ve put it on the side

This was before the release of Brand New Me.

Today, we mourn our loss, dying of lung cancer, the Jamaican bred singer leaves us with only his music.

Gregory Isaacs-Storm

One thought on “Everything Irie (now) RIP Gregory Isaacs

Leave a Reply

